October 22, 2021

David Connolly

David Connolly is Professor Emeritus of Translation Studies at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki. He has translated over 50 books with works by contemporary Greek writers. His translations have received awards in the USA, the UK and Greece.

Joshua Barley

Joshua Barley is a translator of modern Greek literature and writer. He read Classics at Oxford and modern Greek at King’s College, London. His translation of Ilias Venezis’ Serenity is published by Aiora Press, and his translations of the poet Michalis Ganas (with David Connolly) were published by Yale University Press.

Patricia Felisa Barbeito

Patricia Felisa Barbeito is Professor of American Literatures at the Rhode Island School of Design. She is a translator of Greek fiction and poetry, and has published and lectured extensively on Modern Greek literature. Her translation of Elias Maglinis’s The Interrogation (Birmingham Modern Greek Translations, 2013) was awarded the 2013 Modern Greek Studies Association’s Constantinides Memorial Translation Prize.

Peter Mackridge

Peter Mackridge is Emeritus Professor of Modern Greek at the University of Oxford. He has published several books on modern Greek language and literature, including two co-authored grammars. His most recent translations are Thracian Tales by Vizyenos and a story by the 19th-century author Alexandros Papadiamandis (both 2014), and The History of Western Philosophy in 100 Haiku by the 21st-century poet Haris Vlavianos (2015).

Roderick Beaton

Roderick Beaton

Roderick Beaton grew up in Edinburgh and studied English Literature at Cambridge, before specialising in Modern Greek studies. For thirty years until his retirement he held the Koraes Chair of Modern Greek and Byzantine History, Language and Literature at King’s College London, and is now Emeritus. Roderick is the author of several books of non-fiction, one novel, and several translations of fiction and poetry, all of them connected to Greece and the Greek-speaking world. He is a four-time winner of the Runciman Award, and his books have been shortlisted for the Duff Cooper Prize and the Cundill History Prize. He is a Fellow of the British Academy (FBA), a Fellow of King’s College (FKC), and Commander of the Order of Honour of the Hellenic Republic. From 2019 to 2021 he served as a member of the Committee “GREECE 2021”, charged by the Greek government with overseeing events commemorating the 200th anniversary of the start of the Greek Revolution in 1821. His latest book is The Greeks: A Global History, published in the USA and the UK in autumn 2021.

Simon Darragh

Simon Darragh has translated among other things the works of Nikos Kavvadias, and Andreas Laskaratos’s Reflections (Aiora 2015). Foreign Correspondence (Peterloo 2000) is a volume of Darragh’s own poetry. Simon Darragh has been a Hawthornden Fellow, and a Translator in Residence at the University of East Anglia. He now lives noisily in the Northern Sporades.